Three Months to Go!

Posted: May 1, 2015 in Uncategorized

Wow. It’s May 1st already. That means that I have exactly three months to train for my 192 mile weekend jaunt from Sturbridge to Provincetown. I have yet to go for a real road ride, which will change in the next 24-48 hours. And, more importantly, I am not yet to 20% of my fundraising goal. While the training is important it pales in comparison to the need for donations. I can drag myself across the 192 mile route with teammates encouragement, hundreds of spectators cheering, and the promise of Harpoon at the end of each day. I will get a massage when I get home and I will slowly recover from the weekend of riding and revelry. But none of that will mean anything if I do not reach my fundraising goal for Dana-Farber. I have a shot of reaching the $30,000 milestone if I can raise over $7,500 this year. That happened in 2011 and 2013 with your help. I know that there are several organizations that are asking for your money and time. I realize that some of those organizations may have more of a connection to you or your family. So here is what I am asking. Take a look at this quick video to show you where the money goes. Remember that 100% of every dollar that I raise goes directly to Dana-Farber. If you have any questions please ask me. I am by no means an expert, but I ride on a team of experts. Some of them work in and around Dana-Farber and see first hand how the PMC helps.

I’ll leave you with this story from last Tuesday night at my Flatbread fundraiser. It was unfortunately a slow night at the restaurant, so i was chatting with some of the employees.  One of them asked a couple of questions about the PMC and the ride and then pointed to my banner and said “that’s my place”. I asked what he meant and he proceeded to tell me about the two different stints he did at Dana-Farber. He had a very rare form of brain cancer called Medulloblastoma. This particular cancer accounts for less than 2% of all primary brain tumors and 18% of all pediatric brain tumors. He had brain surgery the first time, relapsed a little while later and then went through chemo that he said almost killed him. He is feeling good now and needs to go in for check ups every so often to make sure things are going well. Most of what he told me was about how The Jimmy Fund was the best thing for him. He met lots of great people, many right around his age, and was given the opportunity to do some great things. He said that the companionship was a key part of what got him through the treatment. Sometimes it gets lonely. Sometimes people distance themselves from people dealing with cancer as a self-defense mechanism. Luckily, that was not the case for him. While some of the friends that he made at Dana-Farber have now passed on, he still keeps in touch with their families. Other friends, that like him, have taken the upper hand with cancer he keeps in contact with. He had nothing but kind words for those that worked at Dana-Farber or Boston Children’s or The Jimmy Fund. He told all of his co workers that this was the fundraiser for “his place”. Many of them bought raffle tickets in support of him.

So, while Tuesday may not have been as successful as I had hoped, it gave me a great sense of the importance of what I am doing. No donation is too small as a little bit from everybody will help me reach my goal. In fact, if everyone of my Facebook friends donated $10, I would far exceed my goal. So while you are pulled in several different directions for donations, I ask that you please consider a donation to my Pan Mass Challenge ride where 100% of you donation will go to Dana-Farber. Thanks to all of you that have already donated or supported my ride. And thanks to those of you that continue to donate and attend events. None of this would be remotely possible with your generosity.

Remember: You know someone fighting cancer. Now you know someone fighting for them.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

