Just a Little Hello How Are Ya

Posted: May 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

I just sent out an email to a bunch of supporters that are not on Facebook to give them an update as to how things are going with PMC 2013. So I thought I would post it here too. Here ya go! Happy reading!

 

Good Afternoon!

You are receiving this email, quite frankly, because you are in my contact list. I want to send out a message to let you know that I am once again riding in the Pan Mass Challenge. For those of you unfamiliar with the PMC, it is a 2 day, 192 mile bike ride from Sturbridge, MA to Provincetown on the Cape. It is an amazing weekend and a cause very near and dear to me. 100% of every rider raised dollar goes directly to the Jimmy Fund and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. That is something that very few other fundraising organizations can say. Dana-Farber is an important part of my life. When I was younger, my dad spent a great deal of time at Dana-Farber for lung cancer treatment. He lost his battle with cancer on June 21, 1991. I was 14. Two years ago, to celebrate the 20th anniversary of his passing, I rode in my first PMC. It was an experience that I will never forget. That year I raised over $7500 for Dana-Farber and that is my goal once again this year. But this message is not just a plea for donations, although that would be great, but more just to tell my story. Every time I get on my bike I think about my Dad. I felt like he was riding with me for every stretch of those 192 miles two years ago. It was a very powerful feeling. The second day of the ride, I wore a jersey with over 100 names on it. Each of the names was given to me by family, friends and even a few complete strangers to carry with me on my journey. Every one of those names belonged to someone that had cancer. Some of them were lucky and beat it. Many of them did not. But each and every one of those names crossed the finish line with me. They helped me accomplish my goal. So here is what I will end my message with. I would love for you all to help me in some way. It can be as simple as forwarding this message to your family and friends and spreading my story. It could be going for a training ride with me some Saturday or Sunday. It can get a little lonely riding 80+ miles by yourself. I could be coming to one of the fundraisers listed below to support my ride and maybe win a raffle prize. It could also be clicking to donation link and helping me meet my donation goal. It could even be just keeping me in our thoughts as I fundraise and train for another amazing 192 mile adventure August 3rd and 4th. Whatever you are able to do, I thank you.

If you have a name that you would like me to put on my jersey for day 2 please send it along. Once all the names are on the jersey, I’ll send you a picture so you can see just how many people will help me pedal my way to Province town.

Here are the upcoming fundraisers and the links for more information:

Kick Cancer in the Meatballs May 19th at The Spaghetti Stain in Dover, NH

Spice and Granola for a Cure June 1st at the York Farmers Market in York, ME

Throwback a Beer for a Cure June 9th at Throwback Brewery in North Hampton, NH

Pizza Powers the Pedals August 6th at Flatbread Pizza in Amesbury, MA

Again, thank you one and all for your well wishes, encouragement and support. It does not go unnoticed!

Marcus

https://marcuspmc.wordpress.com/ –PMC blog site

http://www2.pmc.org/profile/MS0408 –PMC donation page

http://tinyurl.com/MarcusPMC–Facebook page

Leave a Reply

