I Believe This is Called Crunch Time

Posted: July 16, 2011 in General

So it has been a while since my last post, and a lot has happened.  I am now “unofficially” over the $7000 mark in my fundraising!  I know the web site says that I am just under, but there is some fundraising money that has not gone in yet.  AND I have one more event coming up.  Lyn from Smiley’s in Dover, NH has been a huge supporter of my ride from the start.  She has donated gift certificates and even had an impromptu fundraiser for me on July 4th!  Well, she’s at it again.  We are having an all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast at Smiley’s on July 24th from 8am-11am.  $5 for adults and $2 for kids with ALL proceeds going to The Jimmy Fund and Dana Farber Cancer Institute.  That fundraiser, plus the money raised from the July 4th event will add to an amazing fundraising total for my first year of the PMC.  I have gone way past Heavy Hitter and I could not be more excited!  I keep hearing how proud people are for what I have done.  I want to turn that right back on all of you.  I could not be more proud of the friends, family, businesses, and complete strangers that have helped me every step of the way.  THANK YOU ALL!

So, that’s the fundraising update.  Here are some stats on the biking portion of the PMC.  If you ask me, the biking part is way harder than the fundraising part.  I am doing my best to stick with the training schedule that the PMC sets out for all riders.  Most weeks and I getting at least close to the recommended mileage.  This week should be no exception.  I have been setting aside Friday and either Saturday or Sunday for my big rides.  This week I did ~80 miles on Friday morning and I am planning on getting a 50 mile ride done Sunday morning.  Tuesday and Thursday have been my weight training days with a Spin class on Tuesday afternoons and a road ride some Thursday evenings.  I have also been trying to get out Wednesday nights to ride with the Granite State Wheelemen.  These rides have been fantastic!  We start at Prescott Park in Portsmouth and ride to Rye Harbor State Park and back.  They keep a pace that is higher than what I am used to; by about 4-5 miles per hour!  It’s great to ride in a group like that though.  I am learning how to draft and pace with other riders and it has also been good speed work for me.  Last week’s ride was so much fun!  The last 12+ miles were in a torrential downpour.  It was the first time I had ridden through rain like that.  We were all soaked to the bone but had a blast.  There’s something about cruising along at 21-22 miles per hour on your bike in a driving rain and spitting out dirt and grime from the road that put a smile on your face (really!!)!  Here are more of my riding stats!

Progress Summary Report for Marcus Santy
Count: 20 Rides
Distance: 669.55 mi
Time: 42:35:44 h:m:s
Elevation Gain: 15,489 ft
Avg Speed: 15.7 mph
Avg HR: 146 bpm
Avg Bike Cadence: 73 rpm
Calories: 62,246 C
Max Distance: 77.98 mi
Avg Distance: 33.48 mi
Avg Time: 02:07:47 h:m:s

As always, if you ever want to go out for a ride, even after the PMC, please let me know!  I will be trying to finish up my training AND summer school at the same time in the next two weeks.  I teach in the morning, and ride in the afternoon.  It’s not a bad gig, really.  Once the PMC is over I will be back into teaching mode.  Gotta get ready for the first day of school!  It will be here quicker than I think!

Thanks again for all your support and I hope to see some of you at Smiley’s on the 24th!

~Marcus

Leave a Reply

