The First Fundraiser is a Success!

Posted: May 11, 2011 in General
Tags:

So, Monday night was my first fundraiser for the Pan Mass Challenge. I could not be happier with the results! Between Mojo’s 20% of sales donation and the raffle that we had we almost hit $500 raised! The money from the fundraiser and the donations that I received on-line brought us up over $3000! I can’t believe how generous everyone has been so far. From all my friends and family donating money, to local and national businesses donating product for me to raffle off to the most amazing donation so far…my new friend Dart from Cheap-Cycling.Com has donated $300 in cash and 15 sets of cycling kits that I was able to semi custom design! The out pouring of support has been amazing. The minimum that I need to raise to participate in the Pan Mass Challenge is $4200. I am well over 60% of the way there. I am now wondering if I can do the unthinkable and reach Heavy Hitter status my first year of participating. In order to hit the Heavy Hitter status I need to raise a minimum of $6400. That’s a ton of money. It would take a ton of help from all of you. I have two more restaurant fundraisers coming up soon. One is May 20th and 21st in Littleton, NH at Alburrito’s and the other is on June 21st at Flatbread Pizza in Portsmouth.  Again, I will have over 20 different raffle prizes for people to win. These are great products from friends and supporting companies in Littleton, the seacoast and, quite literally, around the world! The other fundraiser that I have is on June 4th at the York outdoor farmer’s market. The wonderful folks from Hubba Hubba Foods are donating 100% of the proceeds from the market that day. Yes, I said 100% of the proceeds! The husband and wife team of Hubba Hubba Foods donates 100% of the first outdoor market to a cancer charity every year and this year they have chosen the PMC and their charity.
The weather is getting nicer and I am getting more comfortable on the bike. The rides will be getting longer and the days will become more and more rewarding as we get closer to August. Please keep the donations and the good wishes coming my way. They are all very important to the success of my ride. I am also starting to compile a list of people that you would like me to ride for. They can be friends or family members that have fought cancer in one way or another or any name that you would like to have ride along with me. My Dad’s name is at the top of the list but I have lots of room for more. Please send them along.

Thanks!
Marcus

Leave a Reply

