Who knew that fundraising could actually be fun!

Posted: March 7, 2011 in General

So we are just under 2 months into my first Pan Mass Challenge and the fundraising is going really well.  I am actually enjoying this part of the PMC.  Before I decided to make the commitment I was worried about being able to raise the $4200 minimum to ride.  It sounds like a daunting number.  But here we are.  It’s March 7th and I am hovering around the 25% raised mark.  I am amazed by all the generosity of my friends and family.  It is because of all of you that I have been so successful so far.

So, as far as the fundraisers go; I feel like a salesman.  I’m selling coffee from Port City Coffee Roasters.  Some of the comments I have heard about the coffee are as follows: “Your coffee is everything that I want my old coffee to be.”  “This is the kind of coffee that I would order on the internet.”  I myself have used SEVERAL bags of coffee so far.  It’s almost like working in the candy factory and eating a paycheck worth of candy each week.  The big difference here is that my coffee addiction is bringing in money for the Jimmy Fund.  That’s OK in my book.

I also just started a new ongoing fundraiser with Full Circle Coupons.  This is an opportunity for those of you that live in the NH seacoast area to really save some money and help my fundraising at the same time.  The premise of Full Circle is that for $25 you have access to printable coupons that can save you over $12,000 at dozens of area businesses.  You save thousands and the PMC gets $12!  As far as I’m concerned you are getting the better end of that deal.  If you are interested, the link is just to the right of this post.  Just click on Full Circle Coupons and start saving.

I also have two fundraiser nights coming up at local restaurants.  On June 21st I will be hosting a community fundraiser night at Flatbread Pizza in Portsmouth.  This place has some amazing pizza made with fresh local ingredients.  I am really hoping to pack the restaurant and bring in lots of money for the PMC.  I am also going to have some great items to raffle off.  Eat-in or take-out, there are multiple ways for you to help out with my ride.  I am also putting together a fundraiser night at Mojo’s BBQ Shack, also in Portsmouth.  This place has some serious BBQ.  It’s been a favorite of mine for a few years now and I am really looking forward to introducing more of my friends to their delicious food.

The final fundraiser idea is meant to bring some of you a little closer to the “PMC experience”.  I am working with my Spin instructor at the gym to set up 3-hour Spin training ride.  People will have a chance to buy a bike for one, two or three hours and then ride along with me.  Keep an eye out for more information on this one!

With all the rain we had today I am really looking forward to the spring.  Spin class is great but I am getting anxious to get my bike out on the road and actually ride someplace.  I continue to ask for your help and support with my ride.  If you are a cyclist and want to hit the road with me this Spring, please let me know.  It would be great to have some riding partners during my training.  Again, keep an eye out for more information about fundraising and rides!

Thank you all!

Comments
  1. Sue Swietek says:

    I would like to help a little more besides a product donation. I normally donate the entire amount of my sales (not just the profit) from the first summer market in York to cancer charities. This year I would like to donate it to your ride. I lost my Dad to cancer as well, this year it will be 3 years ago, and the anniversary coincides with that first market day. Stay in touch, and maybe you can put the word out when the time comes.

Leave a Reply

