First Day of Spin…

Posted: January 30, 2011 in General

Wow!  Today is the first day that I have written a post that we didn’t have 6+ inches of snow falling.  Maybe I should have waited until Wednesday.  Today was also the first day that I took a spin class at the gym.  It was a 45 RPM class and I am hooked.  Here is how the gym describes the class. “RPM: Take the ultimate ride! RPM incorporates cycling, choreography and motivational coaching techniques to give you a completely safe, aerobic, adrenaline ride. Get in the zone and find out why RPM is totally addictive.”  Well, the description was right on.  I can’t wait for my next class.  The PMC training site recommends spin classes in the winter and I can really see why.  My heart rate was in the low 180’s and I felt great when I got off the bike.  Hopefully this will get me into road shape for the spring.

Two other great things this week.  I reached the 10% mark in my fundraising on my PMC Paceline site and I have been selling a good deal of coffee.  The dark roast is flying and the light and decaf are lagging a bit at this point.  I know that my friends at the Portsmouth Middle School are putting together an order for some.  If you want to do the same at your school or place of business, please let me know.  I can send you and order form via e-mail and you’ll be in business.  Hopefully I can keep the fundraising pace consistent over the winter and into the spring.  I’d love to have the majority of it done by the middle of the summer.

I am also making plans to go to the new Yawkey Center at Dana-Farber over February break.  I started this ride as a tribute to my Dad and his battle with lung cancer.  What I would like to do is go and meet and spend some time with the kids that are at Dana-Farber now.  With all of the money from the Pan-Mass Challenge going directly to the Jimmy Fund and Dana-Farber, I think it would be worthwhile to go and see WHO I am raising money for.

Please remember to visit my donation page at http://www.pmc.org/profile/MS0408.  If you need any delicious Port City Coffee Roasters coffee and are in the Seacoast NH area let me know as well and I can hook you up!

Leave a Reply

