The Real Day One..

Posted: January 18, 2011 in General

January 18, 2011

So it’s snow day number two for me this year.  I got up at the usual time and waited for the call that never came.  The snow wasn’t really falling yet so I headed into the gym with Michelle for a earlier than normal workout.  Today is an important day. It’s registration day for the Pan Mass Challenge 2011.  I have been thinking about participating in this event for a couple of years now.  I knew it was a big fundraiser for Dana-Farber but I didn’t know much else about it.  It wasn’t until I met Michelle’s brother Jared, who is gearing up for his 8th ride, that I got much more information and much more interest.  I got to see his progression from registration, to training, to fundraising and then completion.  Last year was also the first year that my brother’s brother-in-law Stephen rode in his first PMC.  With Stephen, I got the perspective of a “rookie” rider and the ups and downs of his first PMC.  With all that, I was still interested.  Last summer I began to gear up.  I bought more cycling gear, read more cycling blogs and web sites and began to ride more…a lot more.  When I go to the gym, I gravitate towards the stationary bike now.  I have a training plan for the gym and the road.  I have the support of my family, friends and people that I have not even met yet.  So here it is.  It’s 8:50 am and registration opens in 10 minutes.  Today I go from interest to commitment.  And that’s what I will be looking for from all those friends and family…commitment.  I will ride for family and friends that are no longer with us.  I will ride for family and friends that are struggling with cancer.  And I will ride for me.

Comments
  1. Jared says:

    Welcome to the PMC!

  2. Erica says:

    I’m so excited for your journey. The whole thing. I also know that you will reconnect with your dad on this journey… Sending you love, light, and hope for all the big steps you’ll take, and the small ones too.

Leave a Reply

