Getting it all figured out…

Posted: January 16, 2011 in General

So it is January 16, 2011 and I have two days left until I register for my first Pan-Mass Challenge.  The Pan-Mass Challenge, for those that don’t know, is a weekend bike-a-thon in August to raise money for the Jimmy Fund.  There are several different routes that people will ride that weekend.  Mine will be 192 miles from Sturbridge to Provincetown.  What I have discovered so far is that it is not just the ride that will be the challenge but also figuring out which ride, where to stay, how to get home, what to pack and a whole host of other things.  I have two fundraising ventures pretty much set at this point; a community fundraiser night at Flatbread Pizza on June 21st and an ongoing coffee sale through Port City Coffee Roasters.  I have a training schedule set to go for the gym and, in the spring, on the road where it will really count.  The one thing I will need a lot of is support from all of you.  Not just donations, although they will be a very important part of all of this, but encouragement, riding partners and probably a kick in the butt every now and then.  Some of you may wonder why I am riding in my first Pan-Mass Challenge now.  Those of you that know me well know that I lost my Dad to lung cancer in June of 1991.  This year will be the 20th anniversary of his passing and I thought it was about time that I gave back to the organization that tried to help him all those years ago; the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.  I have helped out Dana-Farber and the Jimmy Fund before by volunteering at Fenway Park selling 50/50 raffle tickets during Red Sox games.  Now I want to step things up a bit.  The minimum that I will need to raise for this ride is $4,200 all of which will go directly to Dana-Farber.  That is my goal.  It is my hope that with the funds that I raise and the funds that thousands of other riders raise that we will be able to cure cancer.  I will continue to write in this spot about successes and challenges that I have along my journey to PMC weekend.  I hope that you will follow me and support me in that journey.

Comments
  1. Michelle says:

    I’m SO proud of you!!!!

Leave a Reply

